Thyme & Tomato Bread

A nice hearty soup needs a nice freshly baked bread to go with it. Or at least that’s what I think. Today, I’ve been making enough soup and stew to feed the family and the whole neighbourhood. (I feel rich when I have food in my kitchen… =)) Looking at the lovely pumpkin soup I’d made, I  felt it would be a shame not to have a proper good bread to serve with it.

Thyme & Tomato bread (pic does not do the colour justice)

I looked through my cupboards and found some tinned chopped tomatoes and I harvested some thyme from our little herb garden. I chopped the thyme and mixed it with the tomatoes, 2dl olive oil, a bit of salt and a cup of hot water. Then I stirred 75g of fresh yeast (can be bought in Polish shops) into this mixture and made sure it was properly dissolved.

With the wet mixture ready to go, I added a handful each of pumpkin and sunflower seeds and another handful of oats. Then I worked roughly 1,5kg of white flour into the mix until I had a nice moist dough that did not stick to my hands. I covered the bowl and allow the dough to rest for half an hour.

The dough now doubled in size was again worked together and cut up in three bits. One I turned into little rolls, and two into bigger flat breads. Again, I allowed them to rest for another half hour before baking in the oven at 250 degrees. 7-8 minutes for the rolls and 12-15 for the breads.

Last, but not least, we had newly baked rolls with real butter and a gorgeous bowl of pumpkin soup – all at a bargain cost of less than £5. What a feast!

~ by evalenastyf on July 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
